## I MINA 'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN RESOLUTIONS

Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Date of Presentation	Date Adopted	Date Referred	Referred to	PUBLIC HEARING DATE	DATE AUTHORS REPORT FILED	NOTES
92-37 (COR)		Relative to recognizing the Officers and Board of Trustees of the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG) for their continued commitment and devotion to the people and island of Guam, and commending the FCG for keeping the Philippine culture and pride strong among the Filipinos of our island community; and to congratulating the FCG on the occasion of its Sixty-ninth (69th) Year Anniversary and the One Hundred Twenty-fifth (125th) Year Anniversary of Philippine Independence.	10:12 a.m.	TBA						

## *I MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* 2023 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 92-37(COR)

Introduced by:

Amanda L. Shelton mandefult

Relative to recognizing the Officers and Board of Trustees of the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG) for their continued commitment and devotion to the people and island of Guam, and commending the FCG for keeping the Philippine culture and pride strong among the Filipinos of our island community; and to congratulating the FCG on the occasion of its Sixty-ninth (69<sup>th</sup>) Year Anniversary and the One Hundred Twenty-fifth (125<sup>th</sup>) Year Anniversary of Philippine Independence.

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTAL SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN
 GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG) is one of Guam's most outstanding non-profit, philanthropic, civic organizations; and it is celebrating its Sixtyninth (69<sup>th</sup>) Year Anniversary as one of our island's most active and well-known groups that never fails to lend a hand to assist those in need, and is the parent organization of sixty-five (65) member organizations; and

8 WHEREAS, the 2023-2024 FCG Officers are: Patrick Solidum Luces, 9 President; Romy A. Angel, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President; Elizabeth S. Cena, 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President; 10 Loisa M. Cabuhat, 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice President; Trixie Naholowaa-Torres, Secretary; Nilfa M. 11 Milan, Assistant Secretary; Frank R. Huelar, Treasurer; Allan Camacho, Assistant 12 Treasurer; Lynda D. Caasi, Auditor; Eileen Agahan Igcasenza, Public Relations Officer; William I. De La Peña, Peace Officer; and Kennedy G. Robinson, Peace
 Officer; and

WHEREAS, the 2023-2024 FCG Board of Trustees are: Mark V. Pangilinan,
Sr., Chairman Emeritus; Emelio Y. Uy, Emeritus; Nita C. Baldovino, Chairperson; Roy
Salvador Adonay, Vice Chairman; James M. Robinson, Member; Leah Beth O.
Naholowaa, Ed.D, Member; Edna R. Rebanal, Member; Monito S. Co, Member; Blanca
A. Imbo, Member; Nick J. Caasi, Member; Norman S. Analista, Member; Ronald Z.
Hidalgo, Member; and Fely B. Angel, Member; and

9 WHEREAS, the fine FCG Officers and Board of Trustees have been 10 successfully carrying on the traditions of the FCG and the Filipino people, recognizing 11 the strong and growing interdependence that exists among the rich diversity of cultures 12 of Guam, and actively promoting civic, social and moral issues for everyone who lives 13 on our beautiful island; and

WHEREAS, the FCG has responded to calamities that have plagued our fellow Filipinos in the Philippines, as well as in our neighboring island of Saipan, by mobilizing the community of Guam in raising significant amounts of money, in-kind donations of clothing, blankets, mattresses, toiletries, canned goods, other nonperishable goods, medicines, and medical equipment; and

WHEREAS, the FCG has also contributed to undertaking several community projects on Guam, including the establishment of the Guam Heroes Memorial Park and the statue of the late Archbishop Felixberto Flores; and has contributed to the refurbishment of picnic shelters at the Governor Joseph Flores Memorial Park (*Ypao* Beach Park) for the betterment of the community; and

WHEREAS, the FCG has made several sizeable monetary contributions to the island including donations to the Guam Museum Foundation, the Guam Memorial Hospital Volunteers Association, and the University of Guam School of Education to
 name a few; and

WHEREAS, throughout its sixty-eight (68) years of existence, the FCG has contributed to a countless number of projects that have improved the quality of life on Guam, and it continues to foster camaraderie within its member organizations in offering gratitude to an island that has been generous to them; and

7 WHEREAS, the COVID-19 pandemic has changed the way communities across 8 the globe celebrate historical milestones; and this year, the Filipino community on 9 Guam has been invited by the Philippine Consulate General in *Hagåtña* to 10 commemorate the One Hundred Twenty-fifth (125<sup>th</sup>) Anniversary of the proclamation 11 of Philippine Independence via several online events and various other historical 12 commemorations; now therefore, be it

13 **RESOLVED,** that *I Mina'trentai Siette Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, 14 on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize the Officers and Board of Trustees of the 15 Filipino Community of Guam (FCG) for their continued commitment and devotion to 16 the people and island of Guam, and commend the FCG for keeping the Philippine 17 culture and pride strong among the Filipinos of our island community; and congratulate 18 the FCG on the occasion of its Sixty-ninth (69<sup>th</sup>) Year Anniversary and the One Hundred 19 Twenty-fifth (125<sup>th</sup>) Year Anniversary of Philippine Independence; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the
adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Patrick
Solidum Luces, President of the Filipino Community of Guam; to the Office of the
Consulate General of the Philippines in *Hagåtña*, Guam; and to the Honorable Lourdes
Leon Guerrero, *I Maga'hågan Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY *I MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE \_\_\_\_\_ DAY OF MAY 2023.

Therese M. Terlaje Speaker Chris Barnett Committee on Rules

AMANDA L. SHELTON Legislative Secretary